A little bit about myself…

I kind of have an “about me” section set up (you can go check that out later), but I figured I should probably be a little more detailed about why I started this blog, and who I am.

My name is Callie, I’m a twenty four year old college student and I’m kind of obsessed with reading. I always have been. For as long as I can remember, I’ve always loved books. My mother used to read to me when I was too young to read books by myself, but once I was old enough to read books, I couldn’t put them down. I remember the first series of books I really fell in love with was the Immortals quartet by Tamora Pierce. I gobbled those books up as fast I could get my little hands on them. I found out after that I’d actually been reading her series out of order -oops- (there was a quartet before the Immortals). Once I figured that out, I went back and read what I missed, and then read all of her books that came out after the Immortals. I still have my copy of Wild Magic ( a long with the rest of the Immortal books) and it’s falling apart.

Towards the end of high school, I started reading romance novels. My first one was Judes Law by Lori Foster. I LOVE that book. Jude was my first book boyfriend, and I still love him a lot. This book is one of the reasons why  I read romances. I got hooked on the love story. I love getting to know the characters, getting mad at them, falling in love with them, aching when something doesn’t go right. Reading is my escape from the real world. I’ve always had a pretty low opinion of relationships (my parents had a crappy one, and I’ve never been in one) so I think part of the reason why I love my romances so much is that they allow me to see a good relationship. Or maybe they just let me fall in love without all the drama. Either way, I love them.

Once I find an author that I like a lot, I tend to buy ALL of their work. Which got to be a little tedious before I got an eReader. I know that some people hate eReaders, and that some people just dislike them. I used to dislike them. I loved being able to hold an actual book in my hands and smell the ink on the page (don’t act like you don’t know what I’m talking about… ) while getting lost in between the pages. But then I moved to Iowa from Florida with all of my books (three very heavy boxes) into a tiny room in the upstairs of my grandmothers house. I already have three bookshelves in my bedroom, and I don’t really have room for more. I wasn’t sure what I was going to do…maybe stack them on the floor? On my desk? I was getting close to that point…and then one of my aunts got me a Kindle Fire (the first generation) for my birthday a couple of years ago.

PROBLEM SOLVED.

Except… I missed my books. At first, I wasn’t too thrilled about my new eReader. eReader’s don’t have the same feel to them as physical books do. It took me a couple of months, but I eventually fell in love with my Kindle. I now get a little panicky if I don’t have it with me in my bag (what am I supposed to DO if I’m somewhere and I need to read!?) and it’s WAY easy to carry around. It’s not very heavy, and I’m a girl that likes big purses, so having room for it isn’t ever an issue. I now always have MORE than one book with me because my kindle can hold my whole library.

I still read physical copies of books…but I tend to read eBooks more often. I just find them more convenient. I don’t have to put on a bra and real clothes to drive half an hour into town to the nearest Barnes and Noble to pick up a book. My computer doesn’t care what my hair looks like, or if I’m covered in cat hair.

So here at That ginger girl reads, I’ll be posting reviews of books that I read. I’ve already read about ninety books so far this year (did I mention that I read fast? No? Oh… well I read fast…) and I don’t know if I’ll go back and write reviews for all of those on here. But I might. If a book happens to be an ARC (advanced reader copy) I’ll be sure to say that, but I very rarely get one of those. I’ll also be reviewing on Amazon (and maybe goodreads?).

If you would like to know more, or have any questions, feel free to leave a comment and I’ll be sure to read it and get back to you. I’m still building this site, so bear with me for a little bit.

Welcome to That ginger girl reads!

Leave a Reply

