Take Me

*This was a book I purchased. All thoughts about the book are my own. I have not been compensated in any way for my review* 

Take Me

Published: June 1st, 2014

Take Me (Fifth Avenue Series) – Maisey Yates

A few days ago I read and reviewed Avenge Me which was also by Maisey Yates. You can find that review here. I loved that one a lot and after finishing it, I learned that Take Me was coming out a few days later and is the prequel to the whole series! Imagine my excitement! 

Last night I found out that it was available for preorder on amazon (my preferred ebook buying site) for FREE. Since I’m a college student… I’m all about the free things. I was fully prepared and expecting to pay for this book, but if the publisher wants to set the price at zero I’m not going to argue. Maisey warned that it was a short read, but 1) it’s free I’m not going to complain 2) it’s the prequel and I need that now please 3) IT’S ANOTHER MAISEY BOOK. I don’t know how long it will stay free on amazon, or if it’s free on other ebook buying websites (barnes & noble, booksamillion [do they even SELL ebooks!?], iBooks…etc) but for right now it is. Before I say anything else I’ll say this: GO GET THIS BOOK. 

Like I mentioned before, it is a short read. I read it in less than an hour, though I’m a fast reader so it may or may not take you longer. 

Take Me starts ten years in the past, on the night that Sarah dies. Sarah’s roommate and best friend Sydney Davis and her best guy friend Travis Beringer are both at the infamous party of Mr. Treffen’s, enjoying the party when they notice people freaking out and running towards one of the balconies. Travis figures out what’s going on before Sydney does, and keeps her from rushing over and seeing something she didn’t need to see. 

They’re both heartbroken, understandably. Neither of them really wants to be alone, so they go to a hotel nearby and… comfort each other. They take their relationship to a level that Sydney had never really hoped could happen and that Travis had only dreamed about. 

Poor Travis has been in love with Sydney for as long as he can remember, and when she said she needed him, needed him to help her not think about the terrible thing that has just happened, he agrees. Right before I got to this part in the story, I was fixing to get up to get some cookie dough… and then I got to this part and decided to get some ice water instead. Trust me. You need some ice water. Or SOMETHING. Because lawddd when they finally get together it’s scorching. 

Travis admits his feelings to Sydney and she freaks. She’s got some heavy baggage in her past that doesn’t make her have the highest opinion of the whole love thing. He’s hurt and they fight. I felt so bad for Travis. He was pouring out his heart to her and she didn’t want to hear it, couldn’t handle it. She couldn’t think of them in the future because she thought their lifetime dreams were too different. So she pushes him away and he leaves. 

Sydney takes a long three days to reflect on what happened between the two of them and what her feelings are. She comes to grip with her baggage and then comes to realize that she’s been stupid. She rushes over to his place and apologizes, explains and expresses her love. 

Fast forward ten years later and we have what’s happening with them right before Avenge Me starts. 

I loved Travis and Sydney’s story. It was sweet and heartbreaking at the same time. You can read both of these book in any order, but I would probably recommend reading Take Me first. That way when you start Avenge Me you have a little bit more back story. 

Now that I’ve finished this one (and my cookie dough) I’m going to go pout that I have to wait a month until Hunter’s story in Scandalize Me

10/10 would recommend this one. 

Leave a Reply

