When You Are Mine

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

When You Are Mine

Available: June 17, 2014

When You Are Mine — Kennedy Ryan

I’ve never read anything by this author before, and I think this book was one of her first books. The book ends on a cliffhanger, which is something I don’t like. It looks like there will be another book out later in the year that picks up where this one leaves off. I know that some people don’t mind when books are set up like this, but I’m not one of them. 

That all being said, I thought the book was very well written. I enjoyed Kennedy’s writing style and the way she was able to bring the characters to life. I liked both Walsh and Kerris (I just loved her name…so unique) but I didn’t like Cam too much.

I thought the book, I guess rather the plot, was weird. Walsh sees Kerris do a good deed for a perfect stranger and is intrigued. He meets her later at a party and learns that she’s the girlfriend of his best friend Cam. Walsh and Kerris are instantly and insanely attracted to each other, but don’t act on it until later in the book. 

I found Cam jealous and mean. There was just something about him that I just couldn’t like. I’m still not completely sure what that is, but he turned me off. Way off. Way way way off. 

The struggle of the attraction between Walsh and Kerris was also weird. I couldn’t understand why she couldn’t end her relationship with Cam if she was so tempted by Walsh. I mean, I do understand that she didn’t want to hurt Cam, but she ended up hurting herself and those around her by staying in the relationship. I kept hoping throughout the book that Kerris would break it off with Cam. Yes, he would have been hurt and angry, but it would have been better than being in a relationship like theirs ended up. I never expected Kerris to actually go through with marrying Cam, and then I didn’t expect her to stay married to him. 

Things of course didn’t end up like I’d hoped during this book. I’m rather disappointed. There’s the hope that things might change in the next book, or maybe things will work themselves out… but I don’t know if I’ll be reading the second book in October. 

Overall, I didn’t much like the story. I’m super sad to say that, but I didn’t. I probably wouldn’t read it again. I really did love Kennedy Ryan’s writing style, and I would love to read books by her in the future… but probably not this series. The book was very, very well written, but it just wasn’t my cup of tea. 

I’d give this one a 6/10. I know other people might like this type of set up, so I’d recommend it to them… but I wouldn’t throw this one at people and demand that they read it. 

Leave a Reply

