Tempting Alibi

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Tempting Alibi

Published: August 19. 2010

Tempting Alibi — Savannah Stewart

When I saw this title on NetGalley I was intrigued. Super attractive former Marine who gets tongue tied when he gets within six feet of the heroine?? I need to see this. 

Tempting Alibi was a very short read. It was a shorter book than Trapped by a Dangerous Man and I thought that was a short read. Amazon estimated about sixty pages, but the application I used to read the book estimated it was less than that. It didn’t take me very long at all to read Tempting

Even though it was so short, I liked it. It wasn’t long enough to grab me by the heart strings like some books do, but it was an enjoyable read. 

Michaela and Scott are neighbors. In the seven months that they’ve been living next door to each other, they’ve barely spoken. He can’t seem to string enough words together whenever she’s around to have a conversation and she can’t tell if he likes her or not. 

Scott and Michaela grew up on complete different sides of the tracks. She comes from a very wealthy family and Scott was the resident bad boy when he was younger until he left to join the Marine Corp. Now he’s back in town, covered in tattoos and has opened his own car repair shop. 

Since coming back to town, Scott learns that the local Sheriff has it out for him. The older man is rude and mean. When the Sheriff accuses Scott of a crime, Michaela surprises everyone and claims that Scott couldn’t be the culprit because they were together all night. Which couldn’t be further from the truth. Because she’s from a powerful family, the Sheriff backs off but tells Scott that he’s being “watched”. 

Michaela’s lie gives Scott the opportunity to finally bridge the gap between them and get to know her better. And by get to know her better, I mean have sex. Lots of sex. I was surprised that they didn’t jump right into bed together the first night they hung out. Well. They did jump into bed but they didn’t have sex. That comes later. (Like the next day). 

I loved the part when Michaela’s brothers come over to her house to fix some things for her and discover a half naked Scott in her kitchen. They’re clearly surprised and do some typical older brother posturing, which is always hilarious to read. I probably only find that kind of thing funny because I’m the oldest of my siblings and they live in another state… so they can’t do this to me. 

Because it was so short, there wasn’t much development in the relationship department. It’s kind of like we get the beginning of their relationship, but we don’t know if they end up getting married or engaged or whatever. You can infer that they’re heading in that direction, but nothing is concrete. 

I liked the book and would probably read it again if I was looking for a quick, sexy book to read. Though, to be completely honest if I hadn’t received an ARC copy of the book, I might have passed on it. In both the Amazon Kindle store and the iBook store this book is pretty pricey for how long it is. I haven’t ever really mentioned how much the books are before now, but this one struck me as a “what the what” type of moment. Most books that are this short are listed at $1.99 or less. The normal price I see for this length of book is $.99. That’s not the case for this book. It’s almost five dollars in the Kindle store and almost six in iBooks. WHY. 

Yes, I liked the book and I would read it again, but I would not pay that much money for a book that was this short. If you have a gift card for either one of those places, I’d recommend you use that (I probably maybe would have) but otherwise I probably would have passed. I know that not all authors have a say in what their books are listed as and it’s normally up to the publishers, but this is just crazy. I probably wouldn’t have mentioned this is the book was longer. 

Overall I liked the book. Didn’t love it, but enjoyed it. I’d give it a 7/10 because I wish the price was lower and that the story was longer. 

Leave a Reply

