Until We Touch

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Until We Touch

Available: July 1, 2014

Until We Touch — Susan Mallery

I know that I just did a review of a Fool’s Gold book (Before We Kiss)… but I COULD NOT wait to read Jack and Larissa’s story in Until We Touch. I was too excited to see what happened with them. 

I loved this book. 

LOVED IT.

Larissa Owens is the masseuse for Taryn, Jack, Sam and Kenny and is also Jack’s personal assistant. When she’s not doing her assistant thing or giving them all massages, Larissa is saving the world… one animal at a time. 

She’s been slightly (sometimes more than slightly) made fun of for her love of helping those around her. It doesn’t matter if it’s a person or an animal… if it needs to be saved, Larissa is your girl. Sometimes those rescues backfire a little bit, but her heart is in the right place. 

Larissa’s mother pays Jack a visit and says things that change the dynamic between Larissa and Jack. I thought it was hilarious. After her mother’s declaration… both Jack and Larissa start noticing more about each other. 

Jack always knew that Larissa was a woman… but he never noticed that she smelled good. Or that her yoga pants that she favored were quite as tight as they are. Poor guy is freaking out. I totally admit that I laughed at him for most of the book. There were some parts that were funnier than others, but overall Jack was hilarious with how he acted once he realized how attracted to her he was. 

I loved their relationship once it finally started. There was a couple of times when I thought that they’d start actually having a relationship (other than being best friends) but it didn’t happen. They were perfect for each other. He supports her need to save things. Jack even goes as far as to let her store things (like a huge owl cage) in his house. Larissa loved him for who he was, not because he was some famous former football star. 

The friendship between Kenny and Larissa was so sweet to read. When Kenny first found out that things were happening between Larissa and Jack, he was not the most pleased individual. He’s been Larissa’s “older brother” in the office for years, and knows Jack’s history with women… so he warns Jack away. That whole conversation was hilarious. 

When things start to go bad between Jack and Larissa… it seems like the whole world goes to shit. Not only does Jack sabotage his relationship with her, but he also sabotages his relationships with the other important people in his life (Taryn, Kenny and Sam). 

I was shocked at how far Jack went with his self sabotage. I didn’t expect him to screw things up with everyone. I knew he’d probably mess up with Larissa (because that’s how these things go…) or maybe she’d mess up with him… but I didn’t to happen what actually happened. Thank you, Mrs. Mallery for that loop you threw me for. 

Even though I wasn’t expecting Jack’s reaction and the pushing away of everyone he loves… It turned out to be a good thing. He hurt a lot of people that he shouldn’t have, but the outcome wasn’t too horrible. 

The lengths that Jack goes to right all the wrongs he did was both hilarious and wonderful. He knew that he’d seriously messed up and that he’d have to do something MAJOR to make up for what he’d done. I was so impressed with everything he did… especially with Taryn to make things right. 

I think Kenny’s book is next (I hope!) and I can’t wait to see what happens with him. 

I looooved this book. I think I mentioned that already, but I loved it. It made me laugh, it made me mad, it made me almost cry… basically it was exactly what I looked for in a romance novel. 

Bravo, Mrs. Mallery. I think I liked this one better than Before We Kiss. Maybe. If I could, I would send copies of this book to everyone. Because y’all should read it. Seriously. Don’t miss this one. 

10/10 would recommend. 

Leave a Reply

