Back to Buckhorn

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Back to Buckhorn

Published: June 2, 2014

Back to Buckhorn — Lori Foster

I’ve made no secret of the fact that I love Lori Foster’s books. Sorry, not so sorry. Back to Buckhorn was no exception. 

It is always so nice to be able to go back to a series and see how the original characters are fairing and how things have been progressing since things happened in the original books. Incorporating favorite characters into newer books is a treat that I enjoy. 

In Back to Buckhorn we have Morgan’s son Garrett Hudson who’s a local firefighter and loved by everyone in town. Our heroine is Zoey Hodge, former resident of Buckhorn who moved away after a terrible accident years before. 

I loved that they had a sort of a shared history before they came together in the book. Zoey had always been seen as the oddball in town. She tended to march to the beat of her own internal band and Garrett was pleased to see that nothing had changed when she grew up. Garrett is pretty much loved by anything with a pulse. The men want to be him (the one’s that he’s not related to, anyway) and the women want to be with him. 

It was sad to see how some people couldn’t let go of the past. When Zoey was younger, her former boyfriend Gus was sent into a rage after she broke things off and ended up dying in a car accident. His family and half the town blamed Zoey for the accident, which ended up causing her to move away. When she returns to town, she’s met with scorn from some of the remaining members of Gus’ family. She kept her head up and tried to understand their point of view. I loved that even though she was being unfairly attacked, she wasn’t petty and mean to them in return. I also loved that Garrett was not going to stand for any of that nonsense. He tried to shield her from it, and when that didn’t work… stood up for her in front of others.

Back to Buckhorn is a really short read. I wish that it had been longer, but I knew that it was a novella going into it so I was prepared for a short story. That doesn’t stop me from wishing there was more. Even though it was short, it felt like the story wasn’t left hanging. Parts of it felt a tad bit rushed, but everything that needed to be there for it to be a quality read was there

I don’t know if Mrs. Foster will write anymore in her Buckhorn series, but I hope she does. I’ll read anything she puts out. In fact I’ll be reviewing two of her books for her new series soon. So if you love her work, stay tuned because the reviews for Hard Knocks and No Limits will be coming to your computer screens soon. 

As always, I recommend this book for anyone that wants a fun, short read with a smokin’ hot firefighter who loves with his whole heart and a pet lover who doesn’t shy away from taking what she needs in life and in love. 

10/10 would recommend. 

Leave a Reply

