A SEAL’s Fantasy

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

A SEALs Fantasy

Available: August 19, 2014

A SEAL’s Fantasy — Tawny Weber

Whenever I see that Tawny has a new book out, especially if it has a hunky SEAL in it… I grab it as quickly as I can. Or if that’s not an option, I pout until it’s released so I can read it. Luckily for me, I didn’t have to wait for this one. 

A SEAL’s Fantasy was so good. I haven’t read a book of Tawny’s that I haven’t loved yet, and this one is definitely at the top of my “omg I love it” list. 

In it we meet Dominic Castillo — the hunky, too good looking for his own good, badboy Navy SEAL. He loves his job as a SEAL and sees his teammates as brothers. They’re a family and they all seemingly get along…except for the team leader. Dom respects Phillip Banks — call sign “Sir”— and knows that Banks can be trusted to cover his six, but he doesn’t necessarily like the other man. Dominic is a fixer. He likes to be the one that people come to for help… which made his call sign with the team both fitting and hilarious. “Auntie”. He doesn’t remind me of any aunties I know. I was so amused by that. This big hunk of a guy who you would expect to have some badass call sign is called “Auntie”. I laughed. I’m sorry, but I couldn’t help myself. 

When Dom gets sidelined by Banks from a mission that his team is sent out on due to a concussion, he’s understandably pissed to be left at home. Even with his head injury, Dom wants to be with his team fighting the baddies. 

Things go wrong on the mission and Banks get’s captured by the enemy. Because he’s the only member of the team that is currently stateside, Dominic gets tasked with the job of finding Sir’s younger estranged sister and keeping her safe from the bad guys goons who would most certainly be looking for her so they could use her as leverage. 

That’s a job that’s easier assigned than completed. How hard can it be to keep an eye on one little woman? Dominic discovers that it’s much harder than he thought. 

Here’s where we meet Lara Lee (aka: Lara Banks). She’s tall, beautiful and smart. A former broadway dancer, Lara is now working as a showgirl in Reno thanks to a broken leg and a bad news boyfriend who left her when she needed him most. (What a dickbag!) She doesn’t have the best relationship with her brother or her family… you could even call things strained… so when she finds out that she’s now under protection of a hunky SEAL because of “reasons”, she’s not too thrilled. 

I loved the interactions between Dominic and Lara from the moment they met. They’re both instantly and insanely attracted, but they both fight it. For a little while. He knows that he shouldn’t get involved because she’s his “mission”. She knows that she shouldn’t be tempted because he’s a friend of her estranged brother… and is holding her basically captive. It’s for her safety, but she still doesn’t want to be kept from her every day life. 

They of course, give in to their fierce attraction, but that doesn’t change a thing. I loved how indignant he was that she left. It wasn’t even just that she left the hotel. She left him. He’s not the type of man that is used to being left, so he’s a bit put off by that. Of course, he comes to save the day, and proves his point about why she needs his protection, but he’s still peeved by her earlier abandonment. I was tickled. 

The interactions between Lara and Dom’s family were also just perfect. I loved all of the secondary characters, and I really liked that she was so accepted buy them. Dominic had a bit of a problem with it, but that was to be expected. 

Their romance throughout the book was hot. I thought they were a great match. She doesn’t let his ego and arrogance stand in her way of getting what she needs and wants. He’s able to learn from her that he doesn’t have to fix everything and everyone around him, which in my opinion was something he needed to learn to grow as an individual. 

I felt like the book was nicely wrapped up with no lose strings hanging around, which is something I love in a book. I hope Phillip (her brother) gets his own story maybe somewhere down the road. That would be a fun book to read. 

10/10 would recommend this book. 

Leave a Reply

