Scandalize Me

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Scandalize Me

Published: July 1, 2014

Scandalize Me (Fifth Ave Trilogy) — Caitlin Crews

Okay, remember how I was saying about a month ago that I could not wait for this book? And how I had such high hopes for it?

MY HOPES WERE EXCEEDED BEYOND ALL EXPECTATION. 

I’d never read anything by Caitlin Crews before picking up Scandalize Me and I’ve found that to be a serious lapse in judgement. I kind of feel like I’m experiencing a hangover. A book hangover. It was so good, but I’m so sad that it’s over. I could not get enough of the story. (Also, hello. Do you see that cover? Hunter is so drool worthy. Whomever found the models for the covers needs a raise. And a pat on the back. Lawd. *fans self* )

Scandalize Me is the second book in the Fifth Avenue Trilogy (the first being Avenge Me by Maisey Yates). In it we get a deeper look and understanding of Hunter Grant, who was introduced in the first book. I just flat out loved him. Loved. Him. 

Hunter was the boyfriend of Sarah (you’ll know who she is if you’ve read the books… or my reviews) ten years ago before tragedy struck. Now he’s the tortured, badass, asshole, richer than sin hero that everyone loves to hate. There were times that I thought I hated him a little, but it turns out he was just making me mad. Have I mentioned enough that I loved him yet? Probably. 

We’re introduced to Zoe Brook pretty much from the beginning of the book. She’s Sarah’s former best friend and was also a victim of the evil world of Jason Treffen. Now she’s the bold and sassy PR Queen of New York City, and she’s on a mission to get some revenge against Mr. Treffen for his sins. Which is where Hunter plays in… she needs him in order to get her revenge. Except she never meant to fall into a relationship with the man. 

I loved the banter between Zoe and Hunter. They turned snipping at each other into a form of foreplay. The heat between them was scorching. I’m seriously surprised my computer didn’t burst into flames… it was that hot. 

Something else that I loved about the book, that others may or may not like… is that Hunter and Zoe didn’t actually have sex until a bit over half way into the book. They talked about it a lot. And there was so much verbal foreplay and some other almost sexy things that happened (but not actual sex) that I didn’t miss anything. I probably wouldn’t have noticed that they hadn’t been intimate yet in the book unless I hadn’t looked to see where I was in the book. If I hadn’t checked, I wouldn’t have noticed. 

The relationship between Hunter and Zoe was great. They were perfectly matched in my opinion. He didn’t care about what had happened to her in the past, he loved her for who she was in spite of it all. Zoe didn’t care that he was richer than God, or that he was a football star (even though he wasn’t exactly loved for that sometimes)… she loved him for the caring man that he was, the man that he didn’t let everyone see. They each brought out the best in each other, and I loved that.

I also loved that we got to see Alex (his story is in Expose Me), Austin and Katy (from Avenge Me) and see how they’re doing. The interactions between all five characters, plus some extras (that might come into play later??) was so fun to read.

Caitlin Crew’s writing and storytelling abilities are solid. She crafted well defined characters that were completely humanized, flaws and all, that you couldn’t help but fall in love with. She was able to build on the story that Maisey Yates started with Avenge Me and make it stronger. I was a little bit hesitant to see how this trilogy would play out. Three connecting books written by three completely different women? It could have gone badly… they could have not been able to sync up their ideas about how the story should go and the trilogy would have fallen flat. 

I don’t think they have to worry about that one bit. 

I cannot wait to see how the story plays out with Expose Me by Kate Hewitt. If it’s anything like the first two books in the series, I’ll be a seriously happy ginger. 

10/10 would recommend this book, because it’s just fabulous. I can’t say anything better than that. 

One thought on “Scandalize Me

  1. Hey There. I discovered your weblog using msn. This is an extremely smartly written article.
    I will be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful info.
    Thanks for the post. I’ll certainly return.

Leave a Reply

