Club Shadowlands

*This was a book I purchased. All thoughts about the book are my own. I have not been compensated in any way for my review*

 Club ShadowlandsPublished: January 14, 2013

Club Shadowlands — Cherise Sinclair

I was tooling around on allromanceebooks.com the other day, and I stumbled across this book. The plot looked interesting and the cover definitely was the thing that made me click on the book to learn more.

I’ve never read anything by Cherise Sinclair before today, and now that I’ve read this book… I can definitely say that I’ll be reading more by her later. I looked on her website and apparently there are at least nine books in this series! HOLY CRAP I’M BEHIND. This book is the first in the series… and it seems like I have some serious reading to do.

Club Shadowlands starts when the heroine Jessica’s car decides to quit working during a tropical storm. Bad news — she’s not anywhere close to home. Good news — she stumbles across a house and is able to seek refuge from the storm.

Here’s where things get interesting.

This house isn’t just any normal house. Nope. It’s a BDSM Club and you have to be a member to gain entry beyond the foyer. Of course, poor stranded Jessica doesn’t know any of this yet. The owner of the club is alerted when she’s let in by the doorman, Ben, who’s rather grouchy. Master Z (the owner) decides that she has two choices.

She can either sign the necessary paperwork to be allowed entry into the club or she can wait in the foyer with grouchy Ben until the storm passes. Shivering with the cold and covered in mud, Jessica decides to sign the paperwork… but she doesn’t really read what she’s signing. Silly girl. ALWAYS READ WHAT YOU’RE SIGNING. That’s how people lose kidneys.

Anyway, Jessica signs the papers and is given a clean set of clothes to wear before she’s brought into the main club area by Master Z.

Jessica had been assuming that it was a normal clubhouse. Not a sex club. Boy, was she in for a surprise! Everywhere she looks, she sees people in various stages of undress and doing things that she’d never in her wildest dreams ever imagined seeing people do.

I really enjoyed Jessica. At the beginning, she’s timid and doesn’t have the best self esteem. Throughout the course of the book, she starts to become more brave and learns that she’s a strong and desirable woman. It was really great to be able to see her transformation.

Master Z was maybe probably my most favorite thing about the book. He’s the owner of the club and he’s a Dom to the max. He’s also got a cool special ability that when I first heard about it, I can totally admit that I was skeptical. He can read emotions. It’s said that he can read minds in the book, but that’s not really what he does. For example: when Jessica was introduced to a new thing she’d never experienced before, he could sense her initial unease and then with some of the things she saw, arousal. I wasn’t quite sure how the author would be able to pull off the hero having special abilities, but I think she definitely made it work.

I loved both of them together. He brought out the braveness in her, and encouraged her to grow as a person. He didn’t belittle her or make her feel bad for not being used to the lifestyle he was accustomed to. She made him a little softer around the edges, and showed him that love can happen more than once in life.

I desperately enjoyed this book and I cannot wait to get my hands on the other books in the series. I don’t think that any of the other hero’s or heroines have special abilities, but I haven’t really read all of the synopsis’s yet.

I completely recommend this book to anyone that likes the BDSM genre or for those that are just getting into it. It’s definitely a BDSM book, but it’s not as heavy or as intense as others that I’ve read. Cherise Sinclair’s writing style is perfectly lovely and I look forward to reading more of her work. She’s not an author to miss.

10/10 would recommend.

Leave a Reply

