Committed — It’s (almost) RELEASE DAY + A GIVEAWAY!

Committed banner

It’s almost release day for Committed by Sidney Bristol! Today I’ve got more information about the book (and an EXCERPT!), the lovely author, where to GET your copy of the book and a giveaway!

CommittedCOMMITTED: Drug of Desire

Written by Sidney Bristol

Published by Loveswept

August 12, 2014

ISBN: 978-0-553-39252-4

COMMITTED on Goodreads

In this erotic tale of sensuality and suspense, Sidney Bristol proves that desire can be the most dangerous drug of all.

 

DEA Special Agent Damien Moana works hard and plays even harder. But while indulging in forbidden temptations at a private BDSM retreat, the unexpected happens: He falls under a stranger’s spell. This woman drives Damien to distraction, pushing him to the sweet boundary between pain and pleasure. When duty interrupts their heated encounter, his focus turns to catching a criminal . . . but his head is still with the seductress who ignites his deepest desires. Now Damien must choose between closing the case of his career and losing the woman of his dreams.

 

Poppy Mercer can’t forget the night she spent with her mystery lover. When chance brings them back together, she seizes the opportunity to again feel his masterful hands on her body. Poppy is a switch who delights in dominating a powerful man . . . and submitting to the ecstasy of his control. Outside the bedroom, however, she questions her place in Damien’s world. His obsession with hunting a ruthless drug lord puts Poppy in the line of fire. And though Damien might be able to save her from danger, salvaging what’s left of her trust is another matter.

 

Committed is an erotic romance intended for mature audiences.

Get your copy of COMMITTED

Amazon  |  Barnes & Noble  |  iBooks  |  Google Play  |  Kobo  |  Other retailers

Sidney Bristol

About Sidney Bristol

It can never be said that Sidney Bristol has had a “normal” life. She is a recovering roller derby queen, former missionary, and tattoo addict, and she grew up in a motor-home on the U.S. highways (with an occasional jaunt into Canada and Mexico), traveling the rodeo circuit with her parents. Sidney has lived abroad in both Russia and Thailand, working with children and teenagers. She now lives in Texas where she splits her time between a job she loves and writing, reading, and belly dancing.

Connect with Sidney

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter  | Pinterest | YouTube | Facebook Reader Lounge

Connect with Loveswept

Website  |  Facebook  |  Twitter

If you don’t remember my review for Committed (it was a few months ago, so if you’re new here… I can understand that) I’ve posted it again below. Keep reading for a chance to win stuff! 

I’ve read plenty of erotica, but by far, I think this one is my favorite. I was unsure in the beginning if I would really love it as much as I did. 

Committed is a darker, edgier BDSM book than I typically read. I’ve never read anything by Sidney Bristol before, but I was thoroughly impressed. 

Sidney gave so much life to both the main characters — Damien and Poppy — that I’m almost sure that if I passed them on the street, I’d recognize them. That rarely happens for me. Her mastery of being able to craft such a piece of art (because that’s what this book was to me) is amazing. I wish I was even a little bit as talented as she was.

From the start of the book, you’re drawn to both Damien and Poppy. Well. I was anyway. Damien is everything a Dom should be, in my opinion. He’s perfectly in tune to what Poppy needs and wants. Unlike other books I’ve read, he doesn’t just blow over what she wants. It’s a partnership as much as it is a Dom/sub relationship. 

When he messed up with Poppy at first, he was clear that he wanted a second chance with her, that he knew he’d made a mistake. But he wasn’t creepy about it. He didn’t follow her around all day or use his power as a federal agent to seek her out. He did show up at a place he thought she might be, and he did call her at work…but that was only after she said she’d call him and she didn’t. He called to check up on her and then asked if she’d see him again. He made it very clear that if she said no, if she turned him down, then he’d listen to her wishes and leave her be.Most BDSM and erotica novels aren’t quite like that. The hero will follow the leading lady around secretly (like… following her car in traffic) or will find out where she lives and stakes out in front of her apartment until she gives in. Damien was a breath of fresh air for me in that regard. 

Poppy was probably my favorite thing about the whole book. I’ve never heard of “switchers” before. She was spunky and sassy from the start. She knew what she wanted from Damien, and wasn’t afraid to make her needs and wants known. If there was something that she didn’t like… or didn’t want to do, she was very vocal about it. Too many times I’ve seen the leading ladies just let the hero steam roll right over them. Poppy didn’t do that. She gave back as good as she got.

The secondary characters were just as amazing to me as the main ones. I loved Poppy’s friends, Nikki and Kyle. I REALLY loved that Nikki was transgender and didn’t apologize for it. She was fierce and I loved her. Poppy’s cats were THE BEST (partly because they’re maine coon’s…).  Mario and Yoshi are the best names! I have a cat and she’s completely a cuddle-slut just like these two are. Poppy’s mother infuriated me with her reaction when she discovered the relationship between Damien and Poppy. Barging into someone’s apartment (even if that person IS your offspring. Poppy is almost thirty years old… her momma needs to learn to knock!) is a recipe for seeing things you probably shouldn’t have. I was happy that she seemed to get past her prejudices toward the end of the book, but she still wasn’t my favorite person. 

The drama in Committed was gripping. The bad guy was the worst. I hated him and I was happy that he got what was coming for him. Even though he was an abusive, murdering scumbag, he failed to break Poppy of her spirit and love of life.

We get our HEA at the end, and it’s just as sweet as I’d hoped it would be. I’ll definitely be on the look out for more by Sidney Bristol. 10/10 would recommend. 

Here’s an excerpt from the book… just to make you want it more. 😉

COMMITTED

EXCERPT

(from Chapter 1)

“Are you having a good time?” he asked for lack of a better opening to pry into the mystery of who she was.

The light in her gaze dimmed and she shrugged. “It’s okay.”

“What’s going on?”

“I think . . .I think I had an idea of what a retreat at House Surrender would be like, and it’s nothing like what I imagined.” She shrugged again and picked at a spot on her pants.

“Tell me. My friend owns House Surrender and he’s very adamant that everyone find what they’re looking for.”

Her eyes fluttered wide open. “Oh crap. I’m sorry. I don’t mean it’s not good.”

“It’s okay. Just tell me what’s not to your liking.” Maybe he’d be able to fix it to his liking.

She cringed and ducked her head, staring at the couch, or maybe her pants again. Her hair formed a partial curtain, obscuring her face. “Nothing’s wrong. I just thought it would be, I don’t know, not so many couples. I thought there would be more opportunity to, maybe, meet people.”

“Ah.” You’ve met me, Rapunzel. “It’s hit or miss which retreats have a higher number of singles or not. I know several poly couples who are looking to add a third. I could introduce you?” He hated saying those words, but so many people were of the more-the-merrier camp lately when it came to relationships. He was a bit old-fashioned there. He only wanted one woman.

“I don’t like to share or be shared,” she said adamantly, no smiles or shyness about that.

“Neither do I,” he replied.

Their gazes met, and for a moment the room faded away. The crackling fire and the scent of hundreds of books and leather blended together, until she was the only thing in focus. An undeniable zip of chemistry struck him full in the chest and his cock answered, hardening at the idea of this woman under his control. She would be fun.

“What else don’t you like?” He had to force himself to speak. It was that or act on the more carnal thoughts circling in his mind.

“I thought this would be like a weekend I’d spend at my BDSM club. Maybe this is someone’s idea of a club, but it’s not mine.” She didn’t shy away from his gaze, which he liked. A woman with spunk and a spine. He might be in love already.

“Why? What’s so different?” No club in existence was identical to another. You could have the same furniture, perform the same acts, but you couldn’t replicate the people.

“Here you have to be either a dominant or a submissive. Master or slave. There’s no wiggle room for those of us who aren’t entirely either.” Her frustration rang clear, and he understood it, though he couldn’t identify, since he was a dom to the bone.

A switch. She was a switch.

Damien couldn’t decide if the idea intrigued, excited, or bored him. Switches were the greedy ones of the kink community. They didn’t play just the top or bottom position; they went both ways. Some people didn’t like them, because you never knew which side of the coin your switch would be on. Studying her, he couldn’t deny she both intrigued and excited him. She was tempting, and something about her drew him.

Oh, by the way. Click  on the link below for your chance to WIN a copy of Committed by Sidney Bristol!

—> Click here for a chance to win things!  a Rafflecopter giveaway

*For some reason the little widget won’t show up on my blog, but the link works!

Leave a Reply

