Indecent Proposal

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Indecent ProposalAvailable: September 30, 2014

Indecent Proposal — Molly O’Keefe

Okay, I can’t lie. I completely read this book RIGHT after finishing Between the Sheets. I was just so wrapped up in the story and Molly’s work that I couldn’t help myself. I also went to amazon and bought Never Been Kissed (Harry’s younger sister’s story) by her too after finishing this one. Willpower. I have none.

This book is a part of her The Boys of Bishop series (just like BtS). I was just as enraptured by this book and the characters as I was with the last book.

In Indecent Proposal we have Ryan Kaminski. She’s a bartender at a bar in NYC. She’s brass, bold and doesn’t let people walk all over her. Basically, my hero.

At the bar where she works, a man arrives and catches the eye of herself and the other bartender. Lindsey (the other bartender) nicknames the man Ken Doll. Because he looks like a Ken doll come to life. I laughed. After several days of watching the man arrive at the bar and not socialize with any other people around him, she notices that he comes in one night and he’s sad. Desolate looking.

Luckily for Ryan (and unluckily for Lindsey) Ken Doll is seated on her side of the bar, so she gets to serve him. Several rounds of scotch, and an order of chicken and waffles later, Ryan learns that Ken Doll’s real name is Harry. Just Harry. The attraction between Harry and Ryan is palpable. Lindsey can feel the tension from the other side of the bar, and when cutting time comes around, she offers to let Ryan go home… so that she can spend some time with Harry. Along with that surprise offer to leave work early, comes the gift of a condom from Lindsey’s back pocket.

The bar where they work has a strict no-fraternization policy, so Ryan has to be careful to not get caught by their boss as she leaves.

They agree for her to meet him at his hotel room as to not grab the attention of Ryan’s boss. The chemistry between Ryan and Ken Doll is amazing. She learns that his name isn’t actually Ken Doll… it’s Harry. Just Harry. No last names are exchanged between the two of them, because they only see this as a one night stand.

Things don’t exactly go according to plan. Because of course not.

Harry ins’t just Harry. He’s Harrison Montgomery and he’s running for Congress. Yeah. Not just a normal guy you meet in a bar. His family is like the modern day Kennedy’s and his mother is the Ice Queen that holds it all together. I liked Harry (I found it hard to call him Harrison) when he wasn’t being a potential congressman.

Ryan learns the hard way that condoms aren’t 100% effective and that morning sickness is a bitch (that gift condom gave the gift that keeps on giving… for eighteen plus years). Because they didn’t exchange any information or last names, Ryan has no way to contact Harry to let him know what happened. Until her brother steps his foot in it and tries to do the right thing. You know. Like brothers try to do.

Both Ryan and her brother Wes learn from a press conference that was shown on TV who Harry really is. And because he’s a brother and wants to fix things for his sister… Wes decides to go confront Harry about the pregnancy and hopefully can pressure him into doing “the right thing”.

Which ALSO doesn’t go according to plan. Ryan is very clear about not wanting anything from Harry. When Wes shows up at the Montgomery estate to see Harry and break the news… he kind of interrupts a photo shoot / interview thing. So the hope that the news of Ryan and Harry’s little bundle of joy would remain hidden is dashed. Quickly.

The initial confrontation between Harry and Ryan after he learns she’s pregnant isn’t pretty. I was proud of her for sticking up for herself and I wanted to smack Harry in his entitled face. He’s the definition of an asshole the entire time they’re “meeting” and leave her with an ultimatum.

He can either spread nasty rumors about her and her brother Wes to the public about how they were trying to blackmail him… or she can marry him.

I don’t know about you, but I think I would have done what Ryan did. She married him, of course (which made his mother almost have a heart attack).

I don’t think Ryan quite knew what she was getting into when she married into the Harrison family, but I loved that she didn’t change who she was. She stuck up for herself and the baby, and didn’t let Harry or his family or friends (or the media) make her become something she wasn’t.

Through the course of the book, Harry begins to change. I loved watching that change. Loved watching him start to realize what an amazing woman he had married and was living with, and how strong she was. I was so proud of him by the end of the book. I could have smooched his face (I probably would have done that anyway…).

Both of the main character aren’t the only people that grow in the book though (no I’m not talking about the baby) his mother also changes. She’s this very stern, ice queen bitch of a woman through most of the book, but she starts to soften just a bit, and we’re able to kind of understand where she’s coming from with her attitude. I don’t really agree with that attitude, but I understood it.

I loved this book. Completely, over the moon loved this book. I thought the story was fantastic and the characters — even when they made me want to say bad words — made me fall in love with them. Like I said at the beginning, I had ZERO willpower after I finished this one and took myself over to Amazon to buy Harry’s younger sister Ashley’s story Never Been Kissed. Both this one and hers intertwine just a little, so by the time this book is over, you’ll know who I’m talking about. I’ve already started reading it — couldn’t help myself — and so far I’m loving that one too.

Molly O’Keefe isn’t an author that you should skip over. Though, be prepared that if you start reading one of her books, you’ll want to read ALL OF HER BOOKS. I’m completely not kidding about that.

I’d 100% recommend this book to everyone and anyone. It’s too good to miss. 10/10 would definitely recommend.

Leave a Reply

