It’s In His Kiss

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

It's In His KissAvailable: August 26, 2014

It’s In His Kiss (Lucky Harbor) — Jill Shalvis

I have to admit that I have a short list of authors that are instant buys for me. I’ve read enough of their books and have loved each and every one of them to the point that I don’t read the synopsis’s of their new books anymore before I buy them. Or in this case… request them on NetGalley.

Jill Shalvis is one of those authors. It’s probably bad to admit all that, but I had to be honest. I started reading her Lucky Harbor series forever ago (okay… about four years ago, but it feels like forever ago). I’ve also read her other two series Animal Magnetism and The Wilder Series. Each and every book in any of these three series of hers that I’ve read I’ve loved.

This book was no different.

I always seem to find myself getting more emotionally invested in book characters than is probably healthy, but it’s pretty rare that a book makes me cry. Okay. Almost cry. That’s happened once or twice before with Jill’s books. I’ll get to a part in the book where tensions and emotions are running high for the two main characters and I have to put the book down and compose myself. Take a deep breath. If that hasn’t ever happened to you while reading a book, then you have NO IDEA what I’m talking about and I sound like I’m crazy.

It’s In His Kiss made me have one of those moments where I had to compose myself. Except… I was so engrossed in the story, in what was happening between Becca and Sam that I couldn’t close my computer. I DIDN’T CRY. But I almost did. My eyes may have gotten a little watery, and I may have said out loud “DAMNIT JILL”. But I DID NOT cry.

Why did I almost cry? Because this book is fabulous. It’s In His Kiss is the TENTH installment in Jill’s Lucky Harbor series. In it, we have Becca Thorpe and Sam Brody… also known as The Peeper and Sexy Grumpy Surfer respectfully. Becca is new to Lucky Harbor and from the moment she blows into town, things change. Sam has been a Lucky Harbor resident from the time he was a teenager, and everyone knows and loves him. They meet in passing on a beach at the beginning of the book… with Sam overhearing Becca talking to herself. It was very funny.

I loved Becca Thorpe. She might be my most favorite lead female character I’ve read so far this year. She’s sassy, strong and doesn’t let Sam Brody intimidate her. Much. She’s also scarred. Flawed. But so full of life. She felt real. If Lucky Harbor was a real place that I could visit, I would. And I would try my best to get Becca Thorpe to be my best friend. Life hasn’t always been very kind to Becca, but she doesn’t let all of that baggage weigh her down.

Sam Brody was also a love of mine. Who wouldn’t love a brooding, growly, sexy alpha surfer dude? I know I would. And did. Sam has a way of saying things, without actually saying anything. When he cares about someone and let that person into his circle (very small circle) he’d go to the ends of the world for that person. The man made a coffee machine work by sweet talking it. Lucky coffee machine.

The interactions between Sam and Becca were all kinds of great from the very beginning. They just clicked. He just seemed to know her and was able to read her moods with seemingly little effort. Sam was able to show her that she could trust herself, and that she was capable of so much more than she thought. I loved that. Becca was able to teach Sam that love wasn’t a dirty word, and that letting people in wasn’t a bad thing. They were so good for each other.

The thing I love the most about series like this one is that you get to see characters (even if it’s a brief mention) from previous books. It’s like checking up on old friends.

Cole and Tanner (Sam’s best buddies — aka “the ladies”… don’t ask. Just read the book. You’ll understand soon why they’re called that) were hilarious and I loved them. LOVED THEM. They fit in great with Becca and Sam’s characters in the book and were just so fun to read throughout It’s In His Kiss.

The eleventh book looks like it’s going to be Cole’s story. I went ahead and read the blurb for that one and I CANNOT WAIT. Just from that little bit I read, I just know it’s going to be another hit.

I love Jill’s writing. I think she’s an amazingly talented author and I’ll read whatever she puts out. It doesn’t matter to me if it’s a book or a blog post on her website (which are hilarious by the way… you should go read her “I Love Lucy” and “Conversation” posts). She has this ability to pull you in and make you fall in love with not just the main characters of her book, but the secondary characters and everything that is associated with the book. The town, the pets… whatever. You’ll be pulled in before you’ve realized it and by that point, it’s too late.

I haven’t found a book of hers yet that I haven’t read in one sitting. Putting down one of her books after I’ve started reading it is almost painful.

I’m not sure there are enough words in the English dictionary to describe how much I loved this book and how much I want all of you to read it.

10/10 would recommend.

Leave a Reply

