Christmas With A SEAL

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Christmas With A SEALAvailable: October 21, 2014

Christmas With A SEAL — Tawny Weber

Okay, okay. I know it’s still August… so it’s really early for Christmas themed books. BUT IT’S ALMOST SEPTEMBER and I couldn’t say no to this cover, okay? Could YOU say no to this hunk on the cover smoldering at you? I didn’t think so.

This book was a GREAT follow up to A SEALs Fantasy. Seriously. It was just SO GREAT. I don’t think I realized when I first requested this title to read and review (or maybe I did and I just forgot…which is possible) that it was the book set directly after A SEALs Fantasy.

In this book we have Phillip Banks (Lara’s brother from the last book). He’s Dominic’s commanding officer and has the call sign of “Sir”. Not just because he’s higher ranking… but because he’s also rather ridged and set in his ways. He likes things to go according to plan and isn’t very happy when they don’t. Part of that is from being a SEAL… and part of that is from growing up in an über conservative family.

There’s also Frankie — Francesca — Silvera. She’s a close friend of Lara and the granddaughter of the Banks’ housekeeper. Frankie is a free spirit. She loves color and things that sparkle. Frankie had a very successful jewelry business before her muse up and left her… so now she’s stuck living with her grandmother and making weird christmas ornaments. Unfortunately for Frankie, she’s also a little bit afraid of things going badly after they’ve started off great. So she’s a bit of a self-sabotager. Yup. I made up a word. Deal.

The meeting between Frankie and Phillip at the beginning of the book was fabulous. She knows who he is… but he has no idea who she is. Phillip was the star of her childhood and teenage hood fantasies, so when she sees him at Lara’s wedding (sorry if that’s a spoiler) she’s in for a bit of a shock… and a surprise because she’s still got a bit of a crush on him.

I loved their interactions in the beginning. She could tell that he wasn’t exactly thrilled to be where he was, but was there out of duty… and that he had some seriously dark shadows in his amazing green eyes. All poor Phillip knew was that there was all of a sudden this sassy, spunky, sexy redhead in his face tempting him. Tempting him to forget. Tempting him to losen up and have some fun.

Their relationship wasn’t perfect… but it was just right for them. Phillip was able to teach her that failing at something wasn’t the end of the world. That’s what backup plans are for. Frankie was able to show him that Christmas isn’t just another day on the calendar… and that loosening up and throwing some sparkle into his world wouldn’t make things worse. They might just make things better.

I was really happy to get to catch up with Lara and Dominic from A SEALs Fantasy. I’m always a happy camper when authors have connected stories and bring back the previous characters for even just a little bit. It’s like getting to see old friends.

Tawny Weber crafted another amazing story that I couldn’t put down. Seriously. I started to read Christmas With A SEAL and didn’t move except to find a more comfortable spot on my couch with my laptop (the kindle is charging…) and to tap the down arrow. That’s it. I ignored my cat when she gave me her “it’s past your bedtime” look and didn’t look at my phone to respond to text messages until after I was done reading it. That’s the talent of Tawny Weber. She has the ability to draw you into her books and you’re held captive until the last page.

I’d completely give this book a 10/10 recommendation. I can’t wait to see what is next from her.

Leave a Reply

