Riding High

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

Riding HighPublished: May 20, 2014

Riding High — Vickie Lewis Thompson

I’ve been a fan of Vickie Lewis Thompson since at least 2007. I fell in love with her Nerd series and read ALL of them. In fact, I think they’re at home sitting on my bookshelf in my room. Between my later teen years and now, I kind of got lost in the sea of books I was reading. When the Nerd books were over, I remember not picking up the next series because it was paranormal… and at that point in my reading life, I wasn’t into that (things have changed).

I didn’t realize until recently that she had a cowboy series out. A HUGE series. There’s like… at least fifteen books in this series. When I saw this book — Riding High — and that it was written by her, I knew I had to read it.

I was not disappointed.

I now know that I need to go back and add the other books in this series to my ever growing “to be read” list. I had forgotten how easy it is to fall in love with her characters and get wrapped up in the story.

In Riding High we have Lily King. She’s a free spirit and has recently taken over a horse sanctuary… without really knowing what all that entailed. Lily has a sweet spirit and has a hard time saying no to animals and people who are in need. That’s how she finds herself with twenty odd horses, two potbelly pigs, and several chickens. Because she could and because it made her happy, Lily paints her ranch house and the barn bright colors. And by bright I mean… if you’re looking for her place, you won’t miss it because of the brightly painted buildings. Her barn is pink with turquoise trim.

This is the first thing that Regan O’Connelli sees when he drives up to the gate of Lily’s place. Regan is a veterinarian, and the brother-in-law of one of Lily’s close friends. As a favor to Nick (Lily’s friend and his brother-in-law) Regan agreed to go to her ranch to check on her horses.

Their first meeting was interesting to say the least.

Her free spirit reminds him of his own parents (they’re very hippie-ish too), but her soft and sweetness draws him in. He can’t help but want to be around her and help her learn how to run her horse sanctuary. Lily’s attracted to the big veterinarian from the very beginning. If I remember it right, she compared him to Johnny Depp. I’d be attracted to him too. Though, when she learns that he’s had a recent broken engagement… she’s a little wary. Nobody likes to be the rebound.

I loved their relationship. It seemed so real and authentic. Lily was worried about being a rebound, but was able to get past that because she didn’t want to miss her chance at being with him. Her hippy ways that at first made him pause were part of the reason why he fell for her. They were both so good for each other. She was able to show him that holding onto anger, and never forgiving things that have happened in the past aren’t healthy… and it keeps you from moving on and forward. He was able to show her that she was stronger than she believed… that the world wouldn’t end if she grew a little back bone and said no once in a while to people. Letting the world walk all over you and take advantage of your good nature isn’t healthy either.

The growth in both of them was just amazing. I loved watching them change into better people for themselves and for each other. The background characters were a hoot. I’m sure once I read all the other books in the series, I’ll learn who everyone is.

I loved this book. I can’t state it any better than that. I just loved this book. The characters, Vicki’s writing… all of it.

This author isn’t one that you should skip over, and neither is this series. Don’t do what I did… start at the beginning so you can fall in love with everyone in the right order.

10/10 would recommend.

Leave a Reply

