He’s So Fine

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

He's So FineAvailable: September 30, 2014

He’s So Fine (Lucky Harbor) — Jill Shalvis

This book was everything that I needed and wanted it to be. From the moment I read the first chapter on the author’s website, I knew I needed to read this book. After reading It’s In His Kiss and getting to kind of know Cole and Olivia better, there was no doubt that I would be reading this book.

Everyone has something in their past that they wish wasn’t there. For some people, it’s more of their past that they wish wasn’t there. That’s the problem Olivia Bentley has been having. As a former child star, Olivia tries her best to keep her childhood separated (by any means necessary) from her adult life. Changing her name, moving to a town on the other side of the country from her family, doing whatever she can to not talk to said family… those are all steps Olivia took to start to try to make her life over as her life.

But then she made friends. Becca (from It’s In His Kiss) is Olivia’s roommate and new annoyingly sweet (any nosey) best friend. The first interactions between Olivia and Becca were heartbreaking and hilarious in the last book. Both were just starting to try to rebuild their lives in a new place and they bonded over that. Much to Olivia’s attempts otherwise. She acts tough, but she’s really a big softy.

After Becca and Sam’s relationship heats up, things get interesting. Because Becca and Olivia are friends… Sam and his friends, Cole and Tanner,  know who Olivia are. They haven’t officially  met… but they know that she’s Becca’s friend that watches them swim at the beach with Becca.

I loved Cole. I might have loved Cole more than I loved Sam in the last book (shhh. Don’t tell him). He’s a Lucky Harbor native and the resident MacGyver in town. If something is broken, Cole can fix it. The man is known for wearing cargo pants so that he can store his various tools in the pockets. He’s always prepared.

Well. He’s mostly always prepared. Except for that one time when he was fixing the wiring on the charter boat that he, Sam and Tanner own… That time he didn’t exactly fix it. He kind of, sort of had a flashback and ended up in the water. That’s when he officially met Olivia. She saw him go into the water… thought he needed saving (which he didn’t) and went in after him. Then he ended up having to save her and they both almost caught hypothermia… hilarity ensued after they were back on the boat.

I loved their relationship. She’s not used to letting people close because they leave. So when Cole first starts trying to pursue her, she tries to come up with ways to decline… but Cole sees through all of that. Cole knows that she’s special, and that when she’s around things are better. He’s not particularly thrilled that she won’t open up to him about her past and her family, but he figures that she’ll tell him when she’s ready.

I totally could understand why Olivia was scared to tell him about her past. Who she was back then is not at all who she is now. She’s completely different. How is she to know that he won’t judge her for being a child star? Or for her behavior after the limelight faded and everything in her world fell apart?

Cole hates secrets. And lies. He’s been burned in the past by both and has a very low tolerance for both. When Olivia’s secret is revealed to him (NOT BY HER) he’s understandably pissed. I probably would have been too. Though, I thought that he handled the whole situation badly. He was a little too ridged. Too unbending.

Through the other people in the town and with some help from the past, he’s able to realize what an asshat he was to her. One of the things that I love about these Lucky Harbor books is that the secondary and background characters are so engaged and woven into the story. It’s your typical small town and everyone is in everyone else’s business (with thanks to Lucille) but in moments like this, when the hero or heroine needs a kick in the pants to realize what an idiot they have been… the town is there to do that. I loved it.

Of course, Cole and Olivia get their happily ever after… after Cole realizes his mistakes and learns to bend a bit. I was sad when the end of the book happened. I wanted more. I know I’ll get more in the next book One In A Million. But that’s forever away from now. FOREVER.

Can I just take a minute here to say how EXCITED I am about the next book? It’s probably not for reasons that you’ll guess. Yes, I’m happy to read Tanner’s story. I’ve liked getting to know Tanner in the last two books… but I’m excited because the leading lady’s name in the book is… wait for it… Callie. That’s MY name. I don’t often see my name in books. It’s not as common as most names, so whenever I see it I have a little bit of a freak out. Not only is her name Callie… but she’s a strawberry blonde (hello, I’m a ginger) and her eyes are blue. Okay, my eyes are greenish blue…but it’s close enough. Is it a coincidence? PROBABLY. But whatever. I’m excited about it. Am I a dork? Yes, probably. Y’all love me anyway.

Back to He’s So Fine… I wish I’d given myself a scale out of twenty instead of ten. Because I’d totally give this one a 20/20. I completely and totally recommend it.

But… since I didn’t give myself that big of a scale, I’ll just go with the 10/10. Get this book. You can thank me later. 

Leave a Reply

