The Billionaire Cowboy

*I was given a free copy of this book in return for an honest review. All thoughts are my own. I was not paid by the publisher or the author for my review.*

The Billionaire CowboyAvailable: October 7, 2014

The Billionaire Cowboy — Mandy Baxter

I will totally admit, I requested to read this book just based on the cover before I ever read the synopsis of the book. That’s probably super shallow of me…but do you see that cover!? *fans self*

This was the first book that I’ve ever read by Mandy Baxter, and I seriously enjoyed myself. This is the first book in a set of three (maybe there will be more later) novellas. Notice I said first. I read something in order finally! Go me!

Anyway.

The Billionaire Cowboy is a very quick read. It takes place over a weekend (maybe two days) so it’s not very long. There’s enough backstory given and the characters are fleshed out enough that it makes it work. Do I wish it had been longer? Of course I do, but I was definitely okay with the book and the length.

Sometimes when books are this short, it’s hard to get a really good feel for the main characters and have an actual storyline… not just hot sexy times. Mandy Baxter pulled it off splendidly. There was definitely sexy times. Hot sexy times, but it had more than that. We were given a bit of back ground of both Ryder and Lara.

I loved Lara. She was a strong woman who didn’t take any shit from Ryder. She’s trying to rebuild her family’s tarnished reputation and has been avoiding Ryder’s advances because it’s known in town how much of a playboy he is… and being seen as his flavor of the night isn’t something that would particularly help her endeavor to give the family name some good press.

I also really liked Ryder. He was a bit of a butt, but he was a lovable butt. He knew what he wanted (Lara) and went after it. Of course, when he realized that his current plan of action wasn’t working, he switched gears and did what he had to so that he could get the girl. There were a few times I wanted to pop him on the back of the head, but overall I liked him and I loved how he was with Lara.

Even though this is a really short read, I really enjoyed the book. I’ve already added the next two books to my ever-growing “To read” list.

If you’re looking for a hot quick read, The Billionaire Cowboy is a very good option.

10/10 would recommend.

Leave a Reply

