Truth or Dare

*This was a book I purchased. All thoughts about the book are my own. I have not been compensated in any way for my review*

Truth or DarePublished: January 19, 2015

Truth Or Dare: Allie K. Adams

I’m about 90% sure that this is the first book I’ve ever read by Allie Adams… and I have to say, I loved it.

Truth or Dare is in the same “universe” as Carly Phillip’s “Dare” books. I’ve read most of Carly’s books, but not all of them in that series (I know, shame on me).

This book caught my eye because it was in the same universe (with some of the same characters) as the other books… but it was written by a different author. Plus. That cover. I couldn’t pass up that cover.

Because I hadn’t finished all of Carly’s books in the Dare to Love world/universe… I was a little lost at first on who some of the characters were. That was my fault. I should have read the other books. Allie did a wonderful job of filling in the missing pieces for me, so I didn’t really feel like I was too far behind.

In Truth or Dare we’re introduced to Adam Dare. He’s a sibling of the previous set of Dare’s in Carly’s book, but unlike them… he’s an only child. And he didn’t grow up surrounded by his half siblings. Adam is a cowboy and a Veterinarian. Yes, please.

Just like his half brother’s, Adam is a prime piece of alpha male. I’m pretty sure if you looked up the definition of “Alpha Male” in the dictionary, you’d find a picture of Ian, Alex and Adam next to each other.

The leading lady in the book, Amber Bigsby was a hoot. Her brother is/was a football player on Ian’s team in Miami. So she’s used to big, badass (and grumpy) alpha type guys running around. Amber is fiercely independent, and knows how to take care of herself… which is how she ended up on Adam’s farm. Running and hiding from a sleezeball asshat is a smart thing to do, in my book.

When Adam and Amber finally meet (after a long and scratchy ride… for her… ) their chemistry is explosive. I think it caught both of them off guard. And then his family showed up. Which caught them more off guard. After Adam learns who she is and more importantly who she’s related to, his reaction is priceless. I also loved when his family realized they knew her too. I thought it was funny to see how connected they were and that they met by accident.

Of course… because this IS a romance novel… there’s some ups and downs with our happy couple. Both Adam and Amber each have their own struggles and obstacles to overcome before they can really let their walls down and be happy.

I loved this book. I loved the characters, I loved the writing… I just loved all of it. It was so much fun to be able to see the Dare’s that I’m used to (and have missed). I think Allie K. Adams is a wonderfully talented writer and I can’t wait to see what else she has out there. (I will totally cop to drooling over the book covers for her other books on her website when I was browsing around on there earlier… Holy hotness).

10/10 would recommend this book to everyone.

Leave a Reply

