His Only Valentine: Part 1

*This was a book I purchased. All thoughts about the book are my own. I have not been compensated in any way for my review*

His Only ValentinePublished: February 2, 2015

His Only Valentine – Various Authors

I discovered this book…or rather, set of books because an author tweeted about it. I clicked on the link and decided I couldn’t pass up the deal. Thirteen (that’s right…THIRTEEN BOOKS) books for about a dollar? Yes, please.

Because this “book” is thirteen books long… that means that I’m still reading it. Yes. I know. I’m having problems with that too, don’t worry. BUT, I’m not going to make y’all wait until I’m done with all of it to start reviewing. I figured I could review the books that I’d already read. I’ve decided that I’m going to have to break this review into parts. I’m thinking there will be three reviews for each part. That way my posts aren’t too terribly long.

So, without further procrastination… here’s part one. (Most of these books are connected…but not all of them…just fyi. And by connected… I mean that they’re set in the same town).

Tease Me, Cowboy — Rachael Johns

I’m not terribly sure that I’ve read anything by Rachael Jones, but I really enjoyed this one.

Selah Davis is back in her hometown to do a story for the town. She has a few reservations about being back home, but she’s loving the time to catch up with her friends.

Things seem to be going fine until her former flame (and still serious hottie) Levi Monroe comes back into her life. That’s when things really start to heat up.

I loved Selah. She’s just as unique as her name (which I’ve never heard before…and loved). She’s got some baggage to deal with from her previous relationship with Levi, and also just from her past… but she grows so much over the course of the book. She really comes into her own and learns that she has to take risks and take a chance… even if she’s not sure that risk will pay off.

I really liked Levi too. He was a bit of an ass at some points of the book, but he learned his lesson and decided that ass like behavior was not the way to Selah’s good graces (smart man). He’s a cowboy, so he’s of course good looking. There were definitely times where I wanted to either shake him, or smack him upside his hard head… but he redeemed himself in the end. Both to myself and to Selah.

I really liked Rachael Jones’ writing style and I loved what she was able to do with Selah and Levi. I’m going to be looking for more of her work to read, for suuure.

I give this one a 10/10

Please Me, Cowboy — Megan Crane

Awh man. This one hit me right in the feels.

I think I’ve read Megan Crane before… but I’m not 100% positive on that one. If I haven’t…I should have.

[Edit: I have read her. She also writes as Caitlin Crews…]

But back to the feels. There were SO MANY FEELS with this one. SO. MANY.

In Please Me, Cowboy we have Gracelyn Packard, a sassy secretary type to the brooding billionaire Jonah Flint. She’s not easily intimidated, even by the reputation that proceeds the man. Though, it’s probably pretty hard to be intimidated by a man that has to ask you to pretend to be his girlfriend for a week.

I loved Gracelyn. She was passionate and really a huge sweetheart. She was insanely loyal to Jonah and the deal that they had made… even though she didn’t agree with it.

Jonah. Oh man. Jonah. He’s definitely a handful. Insanely rich, stupid attractive and he’s a twin. What could be better? Well. He could be less of a hardass… but beggars can’t be choosers. Right? Jonah has it in his head that he must protect his twin Jasper from marrying a woman that he hasn’t deemed worthy at all costs. Even if that means hiring a woman to be his girlfriend.

The chemistry between Jonah and Gracelyn was electric. Faking a relationship is hard enough, but having to do it in front of family is probably harder. It’s pretty easy to have the lines between what’s real and what’s not blurred. They both give it their best shot though. The whole “staying professional” thing. Everyone around them can see the attraction and chemistry sparking between them…except them.

This book made me mad, parts of it made me sad, but at the end it gave me the warm and fuzzies that I’m always after.

Megan Crane crafted an excellent story. You can’t help but fall for the characters, and after reading this one I definitely want to visit Montana. It’s only something like a seventeen hour drive from here to Billings. I could do that in a day and a half! Now I just have to find the time. Maybe I’ll find my own cowboy…

I give this one a solid 10/10 recommendation.

Kiss Me, Cowboy — Melissa McClone

I know for a fact that I haven’t read anything by Melissa McClone before this book, and after reading this one… she’s on my author list. I loved this story.

In Kiss Me, Cowboy we have Zack Harris. Former military, current cowboy hottie. He’s got some serious baggage that he kinda deals with, but he’s got a good heart. We also have Charlotte “Charlie” Randall, horse whisperer and cowgirl extraordinaire. She’s one of the guys and wishes that they would see her as more than just Charlie.

One kiss turns their whole friendship on it’s head. Zack thinks it was all a mistake, and refuses to think anything else. Charlie thinks it’s meant to be and can’t think of anything else.

So… that’s a problem.

But dear Zack wants it both ways. He wants Charlie to stick around on the ranch that they both work on, but only wants to remain friends. She wants him but can’t just be friends. Being in the friend zone isn’t fun, y’all.

Zack’s realization of his feelings over the course of the book were fun to watch… even if they were a little painful at times. Charlotte’s realization that she didn’t have to settle, and that she needed to do what was best for her, even if it hurt was a great thing to see. So much growth happened with both of them.

I think my favorite part was when one of their kisses got interrupted by a horse. I could totally picture that happening in my mind. Or maybe it was when Zack lost his cool and counted to twenty to try to calm down… but then had to start over in Arabic because counting in English wasn’t helping. I literally laughed out loud.

I wanted to kick Zack’s ass part of the time but mostly I just wanted to hug him. I want Charlotte to be my best friend.

I loved Melissa McClone’s writing style. I can’t wait to see what else she has out, or what she has coming out next.

I give this one a 10/10 recommendation.

Leave a Reply

